Users Module: Manage Users Overview | Sohonet CORE Help Center

Users Module: Manage Users Overview

A walkthrough of the Manage Users section and Admin tools for managing users.

October 11, 2023

Manage Users is where you add new users, view all existing users, monitor individual user activity, troubleshoot the user experience from their POV, and manage the user account.

To add, edit, or manage users, go to the article How to Add, Edit, and Manage Users.


Manage User Features

  1. User Browse - Search and filter users
  2. Add User(s) Buttons - Add a single user or group of users
  3. User Profile - Profile details of a selected User

User Browse

This section shows all available User accounts, and lets you search and filter within them.

1. Search

Type a User's name to search by it, and click the or press Enter to search. To clear a search, delete the name and search again.

2. Add Filter

Click the +Filter button to filter User’s accounts by their Company, Department, User Access Role the user belongs to, Device Type user has access to and User’s current Status in the system (active, locked or expired). You can apply multiple filters when searching for users.

3. Select All

Check this to select all currently loaded User Accounts. Once you select all (or check individual boxes next to users) you can Activate, Deactivate or Delete Users in bulk.

4. Users

Click on any User to view their profile. This box contains the User’s Name, an avatar if uploaded, the company, department, position and User Access Role that the user belongs to. In the top right are the number of Access Overrides for the user outside of their role.


User Profile

When you select a User in User Browse, the person’s User Profile will open on the right side. Here you can view it, or edit it, if you have the proper permissions.

Profile Tab

This is where a User's account is set up when adding a New User for the first time or when Editing an existing user.

  1. First Name - The User's First Name

  2. Last Name - The User's Last Name

  3. Username - The User's account name. This is what a user uses to log in, and must be unique.

  4. User Role - What User Role the user is assigned to in CORE.

  5. Email - The email address linked to the account.

  6. cc. Email Addresses - cc.email addresses.

  7. Language - Currently English is the only language available.

  8. Timezone - If the timezone is set to Auto, it is set to your browser timezone.

  9. Company - The Company the User works for.

  10. Department - The Department the User works in.

  11. Position - The Position or title of the User within the company.

  12. Phone Number - The User's phone number.

  13. PDF Password - PDFs can be sent to a User with password protection.

  14. Mobile Phone Number - The User's mobile phone number.

  15. SSO ID - If your organization uses Single Sign-On, enter the User's SSO ID here.

  16. Requested By - If a User's account has been requested by another User.

  17. Notes - Admin can enter the description during user creation. Notes should support up to 300 characters.


Profile - Activation

Below the main profile is the Activation section, which contains settings related to the account itself.

  1. Expiration - When ON, administrators can set a date for a user’s account to expire.
  2. Disable Notifications - Activating this turns off all email notifications.
  3. Force password reset on next login - User must reset their password the next time he, she, or they log in.
  4. Lock Account - Locks out the user of the account.
  5. Is Sensitive - Marks the user’s account as “Sensitive” which means other users cannot see them except for Administrators.

Profile Tools for Admins

Impersonate User and Account Options

Impersonate, Delete, Reset Password, and reset Multi-Factor Authentication by using these tools. These options are available to Admins only.


History Tab

In History, view a user's historical activity. Most actions taken by a User are logged in the system and displayed here.


Rules Override Tab

In some cases, you may wish to alter a User's Permissions.

Access Override

Access Overrides are permissions overrides to the Role Info page.


Audit Login

Audit and monitor detailed user sessions with this tool.