Admin Guide: Locking, Deactivating, and Deleting Users | Sohonet CORE Help Center

Admin Guide: Locking, Deactivating, and Deleting Users

September 1, 2023

This articles describes how CORE admins can Lock, Expire / Deactivate, and Delete users, as well as how to reactivate and unlock users from the CORE site.

For user management questions regarding your SSO, please contact the appropriate internal team at your organization.

Locked User Accounts

A locked account status is intended for temporary usage. Expire a user for long-term deactivation. When a user is locked, the following occurs in relation to their account:

The locked condition is normally for an account that might be compromised. It occurs automatically after five failed login attempts in CORE by default (this threshold can be adjusted). Admins may also wish to manually lock a user if they learn a user's phone, laptop, or tablet has been stolen. These devices often store passwords.

How to Lock and Unlock User Accounts

Admins can find the user's account from the user panel, scrolling down to the activation heading, and toggling the lock button.

Expired or Deactivated User Accounts

An Expired user is a user who has been deactivated. From a user count standpoint, deactivated / expired users are inactive users.

When a user is expired, the following occurs:

The expired user condition is typically used for for-hire and other personnel who have a specific start date and expected end date at a company. An expired user can easily be reactivated when they're rehired.

How to Deactivate and Reactivate a User

To expire a user, find the user in user list and toggle the expiration button to "on." Then, select the end date.

To un-expire or reactivate a user, delete the end date and switch expiration to "off."

Deleted User Accounts

When a user is deleted, the following occurs:

Deleting users is not recommended in most cases for the following reasons:

If you cannot use a particular username, and don't see that username in the user list, it is probably due to a deleted account issue. Please contact 5th Kind support for assistance.

How to Delete a User

To delete a user, find the user's account in CORE, and click the red DELETE button.