Managing viewers | Sohonet Help Center

Managing viewers

How to manage viewers in your ClearView Flex session

November 5, 2025

Table of contents

Inviting viewers

To invite viewers to your session, use the invitation form at the top right of the screen. Enter the viewer’s email address and click the ‘+’ button.

To invite multiple viewers to a session at once, presenters can copy multiple email addresses using a space, comma, semicolon or colon format from their respective directories to paste into the 'Invite by email' section.

For many of our users, a Flex session will have been scheduled ahead of time and those involved will have been invited using a calendar app. Below we show you how to copy emails directly from some of the most popular calendars.

Google Calendar

Microsoft Outlook

Apple Calendar

The maximum number of viewers you can invite will be subject to either your subscription type or, for our PAYG customers, the type of credit you have active. Your limit is indicated at the bottom of the invite viewer form. Once your viewers are added to the list, an email containing a unique session link will be sent to each person.

Once added to the list, you will see an empty circle next to the viewer’s email address.

Once they join the session, the circle will turn green. If the viewer leaves the session, their name will be struck out, and they will be moved to the bottom of the form along with other viewers that have left.

If the viewer cannot access their invitation email, you can send them their session link through alternative means, such as instant messaging. To do this, click their email address to bring up the action menu.

Click Copy invite link to copy the link to your clipboard.

Invite expiration

As a security measure, this link expires after 30 minutes and can be reused by the same viewer within this time period. It can not be used on more than one device, so it cannot be shared. If you attempt to use your invite link in more than one browser or device, your attendance in any open sessions will be removed.

If you would like to adjust the link expiration time or disable reusable links, please contact an admin on the project who can adjust these security settings.

Re-inviting viewers

If you need to re-invite a viewer once they have left or disconnected, click their email address to bring up the action menu.

Then select Re-invite viewer. Doing this will automatically expire the old link token so that it can not be used by anyone else.

Removing viewers

To remove a viewer during the session, click their email address to bring up the action menu.

Selecting ‘Remove Viewer’ from the menu will remove the viewer from the session within seconds. Their invite link will become invalid if it hasn’t already been used, and they will no longer have access to the session if they have already joined. Finally they will be moved to the bottom of the form along with other viewers you have removed.

Ending a Session

Select the ‘End Session’ button to terminate the session. Doing this will log all viewers out from the session and invalidate any previously sent invitation links.

Please note - the presenter needs to be present for the duration of a ClearView Flex session. If the Presenter leaves at any point during the session by closing the tab or browser, the session will automatically end within 5 minutes. This is a security measure to ensure that the Presenter is always in control over what is being streamed to the viewers.