How to manage users in FileRunner | Sohonet Help Center

How to manage users in FileRunner

Managing user permissions and groups in FileRunner

July 2, 2025

User List

As a project Admin in FileRunner, you are able to manage every user in the project as well as any groups created. In the 'Users' tab you have access to the 'User List' which contains every verified user that's been added to the project. To add a new user, click the 'Add User' button, a pop up will appear to enter their information. The required fields include first and last name, and an email address. A mobile phone number can be added if PIN Verification will be used to secure packages.

Next select the role, permissions and add the user into any group as you see fit. The roles and permissions in FileRunner include:


User access and permissions can be adjusted at any time as shown below. These changes include:


Groups List

To create a new group, click the 'Add Group' button, a popup will appear for you to enter a group name as well as a little description about the group. A user can be added to multiple groups as determined by an admin on the project.

Each user added to a project must be in at least one group. There are two types of groups in FileRunner:

  1. The Master Group - By default users are added to the master group if no other group is designated during the creation process. Users in the master group have visibility of all other users in the master group as well as any users added to any other groups in the project.
  2. Other Groups - Any group created by an admin that is not the master group. Groups serve two primary purposes in FileRunner:
    1. Users added to a specific group will only have visibility to others in that group as well as the master group. This is a great option for securely adding users to a project that may be outside of your organization. If a user is added to multiple groups, they will have visibility to all groups that they are a part of.
    2. When deciding which users to add when sending a package, a group is an easily identifiable way for senders to quickly add multiple users to a package.